Chero Chero!



Homeless

Am homeless in Brisbane thus far. The feeling really sucks. Sigh

I’m so envious of those students in Melbourne and Sydney cos they can just book online. But oh no not for Brisbane. For Brisbane you have to actually be there for inspection etc. Well I’m here, not there, capishe?

Good thing my cousin’s aunt is there (no my cousin’s aunt doesn’t equal to my aunt cos she’s from his other side of the family. Anyway.) and she helped Shen, Koo and I check out a house at Sandford Street. It was quite promising, other than problems with the water (Aunt J said that when it rained the water didn’t recede fast enough, so there was a high probability of floods). We planned to take a 3-months-lease and we were in the midst of getting all the documents ready when I found out that it has just been rented =((((

The house that got away

The bathroom that got away

The room that got away

Boohoo I hate being homeless..should at least have temporary accomodation what, at least for a week or so. But we don’t even have that =(((( Ah sponsors please help us =(((

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jas says:

    Nice bloggie! πŸ˜€

    Eh? Seriously (Jasmine here btw), DON’T be envious of any students in Syd. There’s NOWHERE TO STAY AT ALL if you’re not looking for a house/flat to be shared with and stuff. Yeah you can book apartments online, but the availability is ZERO!!

    Well unless you really wanna look for a house and stuff I guess. Which isn’t really easy in Syd as far as I know… USyd itself has about 47,000 students, it provides accom for about 2000+. That’s not looking at UTS, UNSW, MacQ, UWS, and all those business and worky-worky people. Nightmaaare. *ahem* (I don’t really wanna share a room so that’s even worse!!) Damn spoilt brat. πŸ˜₯

    And the rent kills you! Unilodge is AUD500 per week for the remaining rooms available (NO food included and not on campus – food and transport will tear another hole in the pocket), and the cheap rooms (up to AUD 360 per week were all gone by early January. USyd’s residential college I’m applying for is AUD370 per week, so that’s pretty good I guess.

    But trust me, your situation can’t possibly too bad… Earlier this month I was already actually wondering whether I would be staying in the airport like the weird dude from The Terminal. WTH?!?!!

    So don’t sweat it eh? Take it easy.. πŸ˜‰
    Worst thing is, just find a hotel to stay in for a while till you get a place somewhere! Good lucky!! πŸ˜€

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * cheryl says:

    hi cheryl, i’m cheryl too. πŸ˜€ lol

    hoping that you’ll get a proper accommodation with siok shen.
    enjoy urself there!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Ning says:

    Hey xiang xiang

    In reply to your questions, no I haven’t been back in a long time, if that’s what you mean by not coming back to Penang for 14 months. And, no I don’t blog, cos I don’t think I have your flair for sensational writing :). Yes I am grateful to have a sister here to verbally spar with almost every time we meet…lessens the boredom somewhat.

    Anyway, what’s the problem with finding accomodation? Don’t wanna stay at the residential colleges because it’s too expensive? So you are looking for a flat, as people here call them, which is better in some ways, and worse off in others.

    Here’s a tip: If you go through a housing agency, it will be more expensive, but less hassle is required, however, you may not get a good deal and end up with a landlord (landlady)* that doesn’t listen to your pleas to repair things around the flat, resulting in one or both parties having to resort to a third party to settle the dispute.

    Worse case scenario : Bad landlord(landlady)* + lousy agent = Go to disputes tribunal = Getting justice … but you will antagonise the landlord(landlady)* so much you will have to move out within a few weeks, either at his/her* invocation of a loophole in the lease, or your own initiative to get out of this hellhole.

    Try looking in local newspapers for student accomodation, you might be lucky (consider boarding too, I did that for a 9.5 months! Moved out bcos there were cheaper flat available)

    Does the university not have recommended places to stay? Or are they too pricey? Some just freaking rip you off, so I’d advise staying away from them.

    I hope you can find a place to stay in time for the start of uni…if you still can’t…stay at the backpackers for a while(seriously!), it will be cheaper, and some of them give value for money as well.

    Well, I’ve had my two cents, so that’s something for you to think about.

    Cheers πŸ˜€

    * Pardon the PCness, can’t be too careful nowadays.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  4. * dazzlecheryl says:

    Jas: Wow girl you’re the first person who wrote such a long comment on my bloggie haha. Holy shit AUD 500?!?!?! God that’s just crazeeeeeeee! Oh oh oh guess what, a USyd guy called me a 2 days ago and asked how come I haven’t confirmed my place there yet haha. Btw we found a place…but we didn’t inspect it..so I hope it’s not dirty scary or leaky or anything like that. And not haunted too!!! haha jk..but really please no..lol

    Cheryl: Hi cheryl! we found a place!

    Hao Ning: Sensational writing? hahaha wokay =P we found a place haha…thanks for the tips yeah…I really appreciate it. Man I really hope that the landlord/lady’s a nice person haha

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

