Chero Chero!



When Did You Know Me?

Have I changed a lot? haha come take a walk down memory lane with me, aite?

This is a very long post…don’t say I didn’t warn ya =)

Kindergarten

That’s my bro and I when I was (I think) 6

I started kindergarten when I was 3. I know! early right? haha. The first kindy I went to was Rasa Sayang in Teluk Intan, Perak. I remember my parents saying that on the first day, my dad went to check on me cos he was worried that I would have separation anxiety or something but I actually asked him to go back (!!!). Fiesty! I remember chee cheong fun with Bryan and Vitamic C chews distributed like candy =)

In Teluk Intan I suddenly developed athmatic cough and the doctor said that I would be better off in Penang cos the air in Teluk Intan didn’t agree with me. So that year I came back to stay with my grandparents at Gelugor Avenue. I went to Taska & Tadika Cordelia which was like at the same row as Ah Ma and Ah Kong’s old house haha. Ah Ma would walk me there every morning and at noon she would turn off the gas and come fetch me and then she would continue cooking after that…hehe so cute.

It was at Cordelia that I met Vennila and Rosalind and I remember Rosalind saying that the walls of her house was made out of lollipops and I actually believed her >.< Venn was my kindy best friend and the thing is, we ended up in the same college more than a decade later =)

Primary School

Primary school was in SRJK(C) Chung Hwa Confucian ‘A’. A mouthful, I know hehe. I don’t actually have any pictures in the laptop but I have a few hard copies…somewhere.

I was always the kid who got caught and punished for talking too much in class. And every year during any parents-teachers meet my mum knew what to expect cos every year the comments would be the same ie ‘Oh, Xiang Xiang is good academically but she’s so talkative’ =.=

Also, remember the time when anything less than 100% in exams and tests was unacceptable in Lower Primary? haha

There was also an all-pervasive rivalry with students from Chung Hwa Confucian ‘B’ with whom we shared the canteen, hall, field with. Nobody knows for sure why there’s such a thing but usually we didn’t talk to them and vice versa. Furthermore, there were like bad vibes =/. And then we went on to Secondary school and became close friends haha

I was also kinda a teacher’s pet but I hated ‘mo xie’ or dictation whereby the teacher would give us like a whole text and ask us to memorise it word-for-word…yea chinese school memang liddat wakalukong. And I was a good girl for a while but after that I just didn’t care anymore so I’d get like 10% over 100% or something atrociously bad like that. So the consequence was kena rotan teruk-teruk ie 9 times if you got 10% or something like that >.<

During Standard 4, 5 and 6 I was a prefect (!!!) haha and I have vague recollections of free chocolate milk =) and being bullied by students of 5B when I was in Standard 4 and I had to be in charge of their class =/

Primary school was also a place where many friendships were made and some still last till today cos most of us went to the same secondary school =D. Pinky, Pei San, Adrian, Nic, Darren, Jon etcetc will forever play a huge part in forming my personality haha

Secondary School

Secondary school was SMJK Chung Hwa Confucian. With the exception of the few who transferred to other schools, most of the students were from the Chung Hwa primary schools. Also, as the second batch of girls we got *ahem* extra attention from the seniors =P

I remember Amir asking me on the way back from the Penang Island Jazz Festival whether I was happy to have left secondary school and honestly, the rules may have been suffocating, but I think my five years there were probably some of my best. Back then everything didn’t seem so complicated and when I was in college and having a rough time, I’d remember how it was like in high school. Oyea…I also kinda knew everyone in school…from Form1 to 5; from first class to the last. No kidding =D.

I’m getting kinda lazy so I’m gonna let the pictures do the talking now

Form 3 reunion-cum-my birthday. OMG we looked so young haha

In Form 4 with my bro and a puppy Pepper. I was thinner then T.T


Wow my hair was so freaking short!!! Also, me and gou lou coincidentally wore the same shirt but in different colours. Picture taken during Canteen Day 2005

Look who came that day! Haha that was my first time meeting CYC in person even though before that we had been texting for a while

Pinky Pong the Pro! I don’t remember why I called her that but lol we’ve known each other since we were 7 and until now she’s always there for me <3.I love you babe =D. Picture taken in 4S1 =)

I was short then and I still am now >.< That’s Kai Li in the middle ❤

5S1 ’06 with Sejarah teacher. When I look back to those times I know I’m looking through rose-tinted-glasses cos I can’t remember any bad things that happened, just all the fun even though truth be told, we were kinda labelled as nerds =P

P’ng Zun Xiang lu si drama king haha. OMG I suddenly remember back in Primary 4 or 5 I was the girl in class who talkedtalkedtalked and the teacher got so fed-up with me she asked me who didn’t I talked to and I immediately said Zun Xiang. I think she contemplated ordering us to sit together in order to shut me up =.= haha but in high school we talked a lot too =P. Gawd I miss those times when he brought those cakes/ cookies that he baked to let us try =)

The guys with LooLoo =) Guys in 5S1 were awesome…gentlemen betul hehe and we could pretty much talk about anything

Chee Hoe, why so serious? =P

Woot! I think a junior was bullied into taking this picture for us XP

Keh Mak ❤ taught us EST

Warming up+ eating breakfast simultaneously can’t be very healthy can it? Hehe that’s our gymnast Tan Hao Ning who’s currently in New Zealand. Ladies, interested? Can cook pretty well too, it seems

Posing before debating >.<

Before graduation ceremony

Pointing at God? I’m so gonna get killed if Mr Kang sees this XP

I just realised that other than my dad there were actually other people taking pictures of me!!! *perasan*

*proud* hehe

Last memorable event in high school- Prom! or as the school admins prefer to call, Graduation Dinner =.= I was one of the emcees that night hehe and my partner was the oh-so-talented and  very crush-inducing CK XP Oh, and I can never forget what I wore…so ah ma-ish >.<

College

My Pre-U was done in International Education Centre (INTEC). Yup, I know the name sounds so like ‘Whoaaaaa, International Education Centre’ haha but the truth is not many people actually know the existance of this place. I mean..I didn’t too, before I obtained JPA scholarship.

While we were at INTEC we complained and complained…about how sucky Shah Alam is ie. ‘Why in Shah Alam??? It’s sooooo boring, doesn’t even have a cinema. Why not Subang or PJ???’…about the lack of chinese food ie. ‘You know if we wanna eat pork we hafta travel to Subang or Klang???’..about the dress code ie. ‘Oh nonono I’m not cold. That’s not why I’m wearing a jacket, it’s cos we hafta tutup aurat’ blablabla. However, now that we have left INTEC somehow everything didn’t seem so bad anymore. I got used to all those rules and all those examstestsquizzesassignments and I actually had a lot of fun with my friends talking crap until early in the morning and crashing at their rooms =D

First picture ever taken at INTEC haha. That’s me and my roomie Judy during riadah MMS. See how much we hated sports =P I know I look very pai kua lar but whatev. My photoshop skills are nil..I can’t PS to save my life =.=

On bad days we had to line up realllllyyyyyyy long for the bus to fetch us from Akasia to INTEC

Hottie gokila was my bising partner in Paakantyi ❤

First 18th Birthday celebration thanks to Shikin and Izzy ❤

Second 18th birthday celebration thanks to Judy ❤ I know…I’m a lucky girl haha

Kamar 1 @ Akasia 1/501. We completely rearranged the furniture lol

As the very bitchy princess who bullied Kumkum during Drama Night. On  day 1 of Sem 2 Mama Khai actually remembered me as the ‘girl in the drama’. I was soooo embarassed >.<

Haha Chee Keong, Fishy, Moky and Ang forced this onto Billy during his 18th birthday and he had to parade around Seksyen 18 and the Cemara com lab XP

Typical day in Melbourne =)..my 2nd and 3rd sem class, not the city. I wanna go UniMelb pleasepleasepleasepleasepleasepleaseplease haha I know this is starting to get annoying

BTN at Kem Bina Insan at the end of sem 2. I know a lot of people dread it but for me it was awesome cos I found my PWM then =)

Probably wondering who or what exactly is PWM huh? PWM stands for Persatuan Wanita Malaysia hahaha name courtesy of Ong Sang Geng. Clockwise from middle: Me, Shen, Koo, Mary Anne ❤

Euro finals between Spain and Germany! Didn’t expect us to watch huh..slept for like 2 hours that night and went to classes the following day haha. Shen was the only Germany supporter =P

Jillian’s 19th birthday at Secret Recipe. The usual places for birthdays in no particular order: Secret Recipe, McD, Pak Li, KFC. Wtf was I checking out the waiter or something? How come I’m the only one not looking at the camera >.<

Hari Isnin dan hari Jumaat tu hari pakai baju kurung. Ni dak Alice Springs ngan Canberra..yang lain tu Mary Anne dan Xiang Xiang lar…poyo betul. Aha I haven’t lost my touch! lol

The night both of us had nothing better to do than to camwhore using Shera’s inbuilt webcam using various props like Titi Song Hui Ching and Tiki Song Hui Ting (I know! Got full name summore!!!) as seen in the picture above and then creating a random story and posting it on Shen’s blog. Other props included a fake samurai sword, spectacles and cellphones =.= Haha we used to have so much lame fun

Aack the juniors came and stole our food at Ausmat Cafe >.<  Ausmat juniors Ariff, Daniel and Dayang seen here with us backstage before Ausmat Idol

The loyal supporters haha. Just who exactly we were supporting I’m not sure but most probably Shen was supporting Fape XP

Dressing up for the Japanese Club presentation thingy. For the record, I’m not even a member haha but somehow I was involved in a few of their activities due to Shen and Gash lol kaypo betul me >.<

Volunteering at Bon Odori 2008= excuse to check out Japanese guys =P Butbutbut we did work hard, saying ‘irashaimase (spelling???)’ hundreds of times while distibuting the fans until we were so very tired >.< but of course no matter how tired we were we still had energy to camwhore lol

Before going to Malam Merentasi Zaman. Oh yeah, Me, Shen, Carolyn and Mary Anne attended like 90% of the performances, activities organised by Ausmat students while other students were busy studying. Semangat giler right? XP

Ausmat turned me into a nerd! It better be worth it sighhhh. Oh that’s no text book, it’s Gash’s compilation of horror stories…very much her cup of tea

Ehe don’t get us wrong, we’re not curly…veryvery straight thank you very much =P. We were waiting for 2 guys to try on shirts at G2000. Wait…I thought it should be the other way round? Shouldn’t guys do the waiting? =O

Always the last memorable event of any school/ college/ institution huh..Ausmat Grand Dinner with PWM minus Koo. She probably went to take pictures with Foo Qin Hao XP OMG Jillian was sooo pretty (*.*)

I *heart* you girls loads. I miss you so much can cry I tell you T.T

I think I stopped being coherant halfway through writing this post. Incidentally I took 4 days to write this! So unproductive I know but I really had lotsa fun reminiscing =)

Disclaimer: Most pictures from INTEC days courtesy of Shen. Thanks ❤

ps/ I just watched the first four episodes of America’s Next Top Model Cycle 11 back-to-back. OMG oh-so-addictive! ALMOST as addictive as gossip girl =D


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * pinkypong says:

    omg omg frigging long post…but its great babe =D
    keep my reminiscing going hehe…we had a very great high school together..and i dont think i’ll every forget it. love u tonnssss!!!

    ps: expected more pics but its alot indeed haha

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * zun xiang says:

    omg,i juz type my name on d google search box,then it appear this website link.
    haha,i omos 4get what was happening during my primary skul period oledi,how come ur memorizing so GENG!!!
    drama king…i like it!!!
    but better don post that pic out lolz,very paiseh nia(i so xiasuei in d pic*.*’)
    thx 4 ur comment ya^^

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * dazzlecheryl says:

    hahaha i still remember lo…lol I remember lotsa weird/funny stuff wan hehe

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  4. * yin ye says:

    Hey , Yin Ye here from Chung Hwa…we were in the debate team once with Darren , remember ?

    It was just some random click and whoosh…i’m here =p

    Just stopping by to say hi , and all the best !!!

    Take care ~~

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago


Leave a Reply

